This is the "Home" page of the "Folklore Winter 2011" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Folklore Winter 2011  

Bennett, Jackson, and Corbett
Last Updated: Jan 26, 2011 URL: http://theunquietlibrary.libguides.com/folklore Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in the Spotlight

Please note that we have many more books than those featured here; we also have pulled all books of interest for you and have them on reserve on book carts for your ease of browsing and reading.

Cover Art
The Greenwood encyclopedia of world folklore and folklife.
Call Number: REF 398 GRE
ISBN: 0313328471
Designed for students and general readers, this massive encyclopedia authoritatively reviews the folklore and folkways of cultures from around the world. There is no better way for students to learn about cultural diversity than to study the folklore and folkways of different ethnic groups. The work of over 200 expert contributors, this massive encyclopedia authoritatively and engagingly surveys folklife and traditions from around the world. Each of the four volumes covers the countries and cultural groups of a particular continent or geographical region, and the first volume also includes 39 topics and themes central to world folklore. Each of the more than 170 culture or country entries explores the background, belief system, oral and theatrical traditions, material culture, and contemporary concerns of a particular culture. Each concludes with an extended list of further readings. A generous selection of maps and illustrations makes this encyclopedia especially attractive to students and general readers.

Cover Art
Polish folktales and folklore
Call Number: 398.2 POL
ISBN: 1591587239
Collects retellings of traditional Polish folktales, and includes "The Sleeping Knights," "The Fox and the Fisherman," "The Hairy, Horned Goat," "When Jesus Traveled Through Mazovia," and many others; and includes a brief introduction to Poland. Part of the collection of world folklore series we have from Libraries Unlimited/Greenwood/ABC CLIO.

Cover Art
Best-loved folktales of the world - selected and with an introduction by Joanna Cole ; illustrated by Jill Karla Schwarz
Call Number: 398.2 BES
ISBN: 0385189494
Presents a collection of over two hundred folk and fairy tales from around the world, arranged geographically by region. Highly recommended by Ms. Hamilton!

Cover Art
Favorite folktales from around the world - Jane Yolen, Editor
Call Number: 398.2 FAV
ISBN: 0394751884
Contains 160 tales from over 40 different cultures

 

Using Destiny, GVRL, and Britannica for the Jackson/Bennett Folklore Projec

 

Our Research in Action

My Profile

Profile Image
Buffy Hamilton
Buffy's bookshelf: currently-reading

Telephone Ringing in the Labyrinth: Poems, 2004-2006 Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, And Hope In A Mumbai Undercity Expect More: Demanding Better Libraries For Today's Complex World On Ethnography: Approaches to Language and Literacy Research (Language and Literacy Series This Side of Paradise The Idea Factory: Bell Labs and the Great Age of American Innovation

More of Buffy's books »
Book recommendations, book reviews, quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists
Contact Info
1550 Owens Store Road
Canton, GA 30115
770-720-7600 x253
Send Email
 

Our Unquiet Library Blog

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip