This is the "Home" page of the "Frost: Controversial and Current Issues" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Frost: Controversial and Current Issues  

Last Updated: Apr 11, 2011 URL: http://theunquietlibrary.libguides.com/frost-9th Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Instructions and Handouts from Ms. Frost and The Library

 

SIRS

 

Gale Databases

 

Gale Opposing Viewpoints Database

 

Academic Search Complete via GALILEO

Share a Resource with the Class


 

Menu of Topics and Tips

Suggested Topics:

 

1.       Cyberbullying (SIRS, Opposing Viewpoints, Global Issues in Context)

2.       American Housing Collapse  (Opposing Viewpoints)

3.       Human Trafficking (SIRS, Opposing Viewpoints, Global Issues in Context)

4.       Cell Phones in School (SIRS)

5.       Merit Pay for Teachers (SIRS)

6.       Educational Tests/Measurement (SIRS) and/or No Child Left Behind (books, Opposing Viewpoints)

7.       Health Care Reform (SIRS)

8.       Cheating (academic) (SIRS, Global Issues)

9.       Cosmetic /plastic surgery for adults OR teens (print books, SIRS, Opposing Viewpoints)

10.    Net Neutrality Laws (Global Issues in Context, Opposing Viewpoints)

11.    Web 2.0 (SIRS) (may also want to see “Internet” , “Teens and Technology”, in Global Issues in Context and print as well)

12.    Cybersocializing (SIRS) (may also want to see “Internet” , “Teens and Technology”, in Global Issues in Context and print as well)

13.    Downloading and File Sharing (SIRS, Gale Opposing Viewpoints) books)

14.    Privacy (there are several options for this that are outlined in SIRS--click on the link and read the options in the "overview")

15.    Illegal Immigration (all databases)

16.    Drilling for Oil (SIRS; called “offshore drilling” in Gale Opposing Viewpoints)

17.  Homeschooling (SIRS, Gale Opposing Viewpoints)

 

Additional Topics Generated by Ms. Frost's Classes

  • Environmental Issues (you will need to narrow this topic down to a specific enviornmental issue--we have a ton of book on this topic as well as this fantastic ebooks in Gale in the box below).
  • Global warming
  • Consequences of the gulf oil spill
  • Recycling:  we have books on this topic
  • Tobacco and advertising
  • Meds for ADD
  • Screening at airports
  • Adoption
  • Immigration law
  • Euthansia
  • Animal rights /cosmetic testing
  • Use of Alternative Medicine to treat disease
  • Marriage laws
  • Censorship
  • Don’t Ask/Don’t Tell
  • Gun Control laws
  • Obsesity
  • Teens/Driving
  • Social Network:  see above resources on previous list
  • Cyberbullying:  this was already on the list--see list above.  Be sure to also look in the last box on the lower left hand side for a new report on cyberbullying from the Pew Internet and American Life research project.

 

 

These resources can also be supplemented with Google News, NewsCred, Academic Search Complete via GALILEO (see widgets on sidebar to the left) 

 

 

*keep in mind SIRS has the “pro/con” outline as well as news articles, reference articles”; Opposing Viewpoints offers pro/con essays as well as news articles; Global Issues has a little bit of everything.

 

Recommended Gale eBooks

Use the Gale password to access the ebooks.

Cover Art
Environmental Science: In Context.
ISBN: 9781414436173
Provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Cross-curricular in nature, the title supports both basic and advanced curricula in earth and environmental science, physics, chemistry, and biology, as well as general science, history, government, and the social sciences.

Cover Art
Environmental Encyclopedia
ISBN: 9780787654863
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.

Cover Art
Water: Science and Issues
ISBN: 9780028656113
This set covers all important water science concepts and current issues and highlights major historical developments and key figures

Cover Art
Climate Change: In Context
ISBN: 9781414436142
Offers coverage of the history, politics, and ethical debates related to climate change, including the impact of climate change on daily life, trade and commerce, travel, and the future of both industrialized and impoverished nations. Provides insights on leading social issues and spurs critical thinking about the impact of environmental issues on daily life and globalization.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
ISBN: 9781412958783
Explores major topics related to global warming and climate change-ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes. Covers the science and history of climate change, the controversies over climate-change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change.

 

Search Destiny!

Destiny OPAC

 

NewsTrust Search Engine

 

Search Google News and Create a Google News Alert

My Profile

Profile Image
Buffy Hamilton
Buffy's bookshelf: currently-reading

Telephone Ringing in the Labyrinth: Poems, 2004-2006 Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, And Hope In A Mumbai Undercity Expect More: Demanding Better Libraries For Today's Complex World On Ethnography: Approaches to Language and Literacy Research (Language and Literacy Series This Side of Paradise The Idea Factory: Bell Labs and the Great Age of American Innovation

More of Buffy's books »
Book recommendations, book reviews, quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists
Contact Info
1550 Owens Store Road
Canton, GA 30115
770-720-7600 x253
Send Email
 

Our Unquiet Library Blog

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip